Library: Religious Studies: Home

Core Resources

ATLA Religion
Provides information on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
OneSearch
Combined search engine, searches most of the Edgewood databases & catalogs. From the Advanced Search page you can limit results to "Religion."
JSTOR
Good source for historical journals. See the FAQ on finding Bible citations in JSTOR.
Kanopy
Documentaries, movies, and instructional films. Includes films from Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, PBS, New Day Films, independent films, classics, world cinema, and more. For browsable lists and performance rights info, see our Kanopy FAQ.

Encyclopedia of Religion
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004
Broad encyclopedia covering all religions.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
ISBN: 0028657187
Publication Date: 2005
Covers the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
ISBN: 0028659120
Publication Date: 2004
Reviews Islam's role in the modern world, as well as its history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopedia Judaica
ISBN: 0028659287
Publication Date: 2006
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
ISBN: 9780787640040
Publication Date: 2003
You can also search supplements to this work in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Catholic Research Resources Alliance
Provides access to Catholic research resources in the Americas, focusing on access to rare, unique and uncommon research materials held by libraries and archives.

Catholic News Archive
Access to thousands of digitized and born-digital issues of Catholic newspapers. Search by keyword, names, events and places. Browse by years, newspaper titles and dioceses.

Find books, ebooks, videos, etc.

Virtual Religion Index
A large collection of recommended websites about numerous aspects of religion.
Association of Religious Data Archive
General overviews of religious statistics, religious demographics, and how religion in America and the world is practiced, viewed and observed.