Library: Art History: Home

Combined Search

OneSearch
Combined search engine, searches most of the library databases & catalogs at once. Find articles, books, etc.

Individual Resources

JSTOR
Good source for historical journals in the arts & humanities.
Humanities International Complete
Full-text journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Kanopy
Documentaries, movies, and instructional films. Includes films from Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, PBS, New Day Films, independent films, classics, world cinema, and more. For browsable lists and performance rights info, see our Kanopy FAQ.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Additional Resources

Smarthistory: The Center for Public Art History
A leading resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. Includes essays and videos that covers art across world cultures, from the paleolithic era to the present.
Art History Resources
Compiled by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, Professor Emeritus in Art History, Sweet Briar College.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Includes the following resources that cover a wide array of time periods, movements, regions/countries, and artists:

General Art History Books & Ebooks

Art History: the Key Concepts by Jonathan Harris
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780203627198
Publication Date: 2006
A systematic, reliable, and accessible reference guide to the disciplines of art history and visual culture.
Art History, Portable Edition by Marilyn Stokstad
Call Number: N5300.S923 2009, 6 vols.
ISBN: 9780136040972
Publication Date: 2009
This six segment set consists of four booklets which correspond to major periods in Western art and two that cover global art.
Art in History, 600 BC - 2000 AD by Martin. Kemp
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781781253366
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
An extraordinary trip through art, from devotional works to the revolutionary techniques of the Renaissance, from the courtly Masters of the seventeenth century through to the daring avant-garde of the twentieth century and beyond.
Social History of Art by Arnold Hauser
Call Number: N72.S6 H3613 1999, 4 vols.
ISBN: 9780415199452
Publication Date: 1999
An account of the development and meaning of art from its origins in the Stone Age through to the Film Age. Exploring the interaction between art and society, Hauser effectively details social and historical movements and sketches the frameworks in which visual art is produced.

Books & Ebooks on Specific Art History Topics

We own many other books and ebooks that cover specific art movements, countries & regions, and artists.

Enter the art movement name, or artist you are looking for. Add the words "art" or "art history" if you're looking for art from a specific country or region.